Medical Cannabis Card Fee Increase
NEWS RELEASE
ATLANTA– The Georgia Department of Public Health (DPH) is increasing the cost of a five-year Medical Cannabis card to $75, effective December 5, 2026, at 12:01 am. The new fee applies to new cards and renewal of existing cards.
Cards can be paid for through an online portal and mailed directly to a patient's or caregiver’s home address. Payment by money order is also accepted. Online payments include a $3 transaction fee and a $1.88 processing fee, bringing the total cost to $79.88. There are no additional fees when paying by money order. Medical Cannabis cards are not covered by insurance.
Patients with one or more of18 qualifying conditions may be eligible for a Medical Cannabis card if their condition is certified by a physician licensed by the Georgia Composite Medical Board whose primary practice is in Georgia.Physician certification is theonly legal waypatients and their caregivers can access Medical Cannabis in Georgia.
Georgia law (O.C.G.A. § 31-2A-18) authorizes patients and their caregivers who are listed in the Medical Cannabis Registry with an active card status to legally possess up to 12,000 milligrams of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) or medical cannabis.The law does not make the sale or possession of all types of marijuana legal in Georgia. Possession of any form of marijuana by an unauthorized person is a violation of state and federal law.
For additional information about these changes or other questions about Medical Cannabis cards, please visitthe Medical Cannabis Patient Registry webpage.Medical cannabis dispensary locations can be found on theGeorgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission website.
Related Files
You May Also Like
DPH Confirms Three New Measles Cases
Tuesday, October 27, 2026
DPH Confirms Three New Measles CasesClose Contacts of Previous Case…...
DPH Measles Investigation Identifies Potential Public Exposures
Monday, October 19, 2026
DPH Measles Investigation Identifies Potential Public Exposures ATLANTA ― As…...